Indoor Cat's Guide to Geekery

Just another WordPress.com site

Best Movies of 2013

I did best shows, and now on the final day of the year, I’ll do a quick post on the movies I enjoyed most in 2013.

1) Argo. I was on the edge of my seat during the airport scene! I thought the tension in the movie was amazing, considering I know how it worked out since it’s based on true events. The cast was fantastic; Ben Affleck did a great job directing it. Great film.

2) Silver Linings Playbook. Oh sure, it’s a little bit depressing as first. Bradley Cooper’s Pat is deluded that he’s going to get his wife and his old job back and has so much trouble relating to his family- it’s all a bit heartbreaking. But, eventually, the movie starts to show that silver lining and gives us a happy ending.

3) Celeste and Jesse Forever. Again, heartbreaking. The whole movie is heartbreaking. I watched with tears in my eyes as two people who truly loved each other and cared for each other tried to move on from each other. Seeing them hurt each other, both intentionally and unintentionally, was truly difficult. A great, great movie, but if you’re a bit bummed, watching Celeste and Jesse may make you kill yourself!

4) Lincoln. A late addition to the list- I just saw it this past weekend- but a great movie. Daniel Day Lewis is exceptional as Lincoln. The way he truly transformed himself is really remarkable. I will be shocked if he doesn’t win best actor. Tommy Lee Jones was also great, playing Thaddeus Stevens.

5) The Dark Knight Rises. The anticipation for this one was high, and it didn’t disappoint. Anne Hathaway was good as Catwoman (if a bit overrated), but the movie was a great conclusion to an epic story.

6) The Avengers. I was a bit concerned about Mark Ruffalo as The Hulk, plus I wasn’t sure how the movie was going to balance all the superheros. But, the movie was excellent, everything you’d expect for a summer tentpole movie.

7) The Bourne Legacy. Another movie I was concerned about, I wasn’t sure how the transition from Matt Damon to Jeremy Renner was going to go. Could Jeremy Renner really be a Bourne level action star? Well, yes he could. Renner was great, and his chemistry with Rachel Weisz was very natural.

8) Safety Not Guaranteed. Most of the indies I watched this year were very disappointing. They’d either end with no real resolution, or were just so damn boring! Safety Not Guaranteed was the exception. A real ending, though my sister and I disagree on what really happened in the end, and a real, intriguing story. Some of the details are weird and even a little confusing, but it was a story I could get into with characters that I could get behind.

9) Seeking a Friend for the End of the World. Long title, good movie. I liked Keira Knightly and Steve Carrell, and I kept wondering how the movie was going to end. (SPOILER ALERT) I mean, in real life the end of the world has been predicted numerous times, and yet here we are. In movies, disasters like the asteroid in SAFFTEOTW are defeated by a couple good looking people. Seeking a Friend doesn’t pull punches though, and the asteroid does indeed hit, which was surprisingly unexpected.

10) 21 Jump Street. Comedies this year were mostly eh, but 21 Jump Street was full on hilarious. I mean, this was the year of Channing Tatum after all! He and Jonah hill have a great bromance, and it’s funny with just the right amount of nods to the original.

11) Madagascar 3. Duh duh duh duh duh duh duh Afro duh duh duh duh duh duh duh Circus. Afro Circus. Afro Circus. Polka dot polka dot polka dot afro! I personally think this is the best of the Madagascar movies. It was fun, funny, and cute.

12) The Five-Year Engagement. This is another somewhat heartbreaking movie. Your heart breaks a bit for Jason Segel’s Tom, who just can’t find his place in the new world of Michigan, and even when he does find a place can’t accept it. He is unsatisfied, left wanting more out of his life, feeling he’s better than his current situation and never seeing the good in it. You heart breaks a bit for Emily Blunt’s Violet, who feels guilty for uprooting Tom and his unhappiness, guilty in her own happiness that she is able to pursue her academic dreams. (SPOILERS AGAIN) When they finally split, your heart breaks that these two people who clearly love each other can’t get out of their own way in order to make it work. Luckily, there’s a happy ending for us, and one of the most adorable ones ever in my opinion. It’s definitely a study in accepting that life you have and finding the good in it, rather than comparing it to the life in your head (your expectations) and constantly being disappointed. In my opinion.

What was your favorite movie of the year?

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Best Movies of 2013

  1. I have to say of the movies I saw this year (a total of two) my favorite it by far the latest Sherlock Holmes movie saw it in Jan. I am a big fan of the series and this one definitely didn’t disappoint. I love your break down and am interested in seeing a few of these movies now. Thanks!

  2. Okay totally kidding I did see three whole films in 2012, in terms of 2012 released movies, Ted would be my favorite. Since SH technically came out in 2011.

  3. I’d agree with your list. I’d say my fav was Celeste and Jesse. I haven’t cried that hard,so silently, since walk to remember. I’d also add 21jump street to the list. A truly excellent comedy.

Leave a Reply

