Indoor Cat's Guide to Geekery

Just another WordPress.com site

Indoor Cat’s Guide to… The Avengers

So, as all good geeks know, this weekend was the release of the new Avengers movie. I was super excited for it. I loved the first Iron Man movie, The Incredible Hulk, and Thor. I liked the second Iron Man and Captain America, just not as much as the other movies. It was written and directed by Joss Whedon, and in case you don’t remember, I’m a fan girl of Whedon! I was hesitant about Mark Ruffalo as the Hulk, since I’d really enjoyed Edward Norton, but was pleasantly surprised at how well he did in the role and fit in with the rest of the Avengers and the S.H.I.E.L.D. team. I was also pleasantly surprised at the Enver Gjokaj appearance as a cop, since I enjoyed him on both Dollhouse and Community.

I have only two complaints about the movie, and they are both slight. The first is that there could have been more Maria Hill. I’m probably biased because I like Cobie Smulders so much from How I Met Your Mother, but I feel like they set something up with her character and Captain America that they never followed up on. maybe it was a small set up that they mean to follow up with in the sequel; maybe I just read too much into a moment.

The second complaint I have to be vague about, because it’s a major plot point and I don’t want to spoil anything for people who plan on waiting to see the movie. Let’s just say that while I understand how this plot point was needed as a catalyst to the final act , I was personally disappointed since the plot point revolved around one of my favorite characters and an actor I really like. But they can make up for it in the sequel by featuring more Maria Hill!

Overall, I think they did a good job balancing the movie between set up and action, though I know some people feel they could have spent some less time on the floating fortress and more time fighting. Personally, I think the fighting went on long enough. It’s like Indoor Cat’s sister said after the movie, the fighting sequences felt very Whedonverse- start off strong, start to fail, push through, fail again a little, and then eventual success. I couldn’t stand much more of the back and forth when you know in the end they’re going to win. It’s really just a matter of how many casualties there may be along the way!!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

